How many Southern languages are there?

The term “South Indian languages” typically refers to the languages spoken in the southern part of India, where the Dravidian language family is prevalent. The Dravidian language family is one of the major language families in India and consists of several languages. As of my last knowledge update in September 2021, there are approximately 21 recognized languages within the Dravidian language family. Some of the major South Indian languages include:

  • Tamil:  Spoken predominantly in Tamil Nadu and parts of Sri Lanka and Singapore. Tamil is one of the oldest languages in the world with a rich literary tradition.
  • Telugu:  Spoken primarily in the Indian states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.
  • Kannada:  The official language of the state of Karnataka.
  • Malayalam:  The official language of the state of Kerala.
  • Tulu:  Spoken in the coastal regions of Karnataka and parts of Kerala.
  • Konkani:  Spoken in parts of Karnataka, Goa, and Maharashtra.
  • Toda:  Spoken by the Toda people in the Nilgiri Hills of Tamil Nadu.
  • Kodava:  Spoken by the Kodava people in the Coorg (Kodagu) region of Karnataka.
  • Badaga:  Spoken by the Badaga people in the Nilgiri Hills of Tamil Nadu.
  • Kurukh:  Spoken by the Oraon people in parts of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, and Telangana.
  • Irula:  Spoken by the Irula ethnic group in Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Kerala.
  • Kota:  Spoken by the Kota people in the Nilgiri Hills of Tamil Nadu.

Please note that the status and recognition of languages can change over time, and there may be variations and dialects within these languages. Additionally, there may have been developments in linguistic research or language recognition since my last update in September 2021, so it’s advisable to consult the most recent sources for the latest information on South Indian languages.